An Eager Well

I am blessed
with two people
who brought me into this world -
beautiful and kind,
always doting on their daughter -
two sweetest you can find.

Innocent, free childhood,
and a trusting family,
I came to believe -
that the whole world is kind,
was I a bit naive,
or a bit blind?

Growing up I placed faith
in everyone around me,
unquestioning, a people-pleaser -
I came to be;
uttered yes, when all I could think was no -
all expectations, I tried to be.

Yet, in this process
of keeping everyone happy,
I forgot one crucial person I needed to see -
overlooked she was also a part of people,
and that she demands too, attention -
for a well, no matter how eager, needs a source of water too.

– Rutuja R.

NaPoWriMo – Day Twenty Nine

3 responses to “An Eager Well”

  1. Beautiful lines we always need to be grateful to our parents! Well shared thanks 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Thank you for your kind words, Priti!

      Like

      1. It’s pleasure of mine stay blessed 🤗🥰

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started